Two new members for Freedom of Movement Council

Haarder is well known within Nordic co-operation, having twice been President of the Nordic Council and a minister on numerous occasions, including minister for Nordic affairs. Moreover, Haarder chaired the Freedom of Movement Council in 2020.

Haarder is a veteran of Danish politics, having first been elected to the Folketing (Danish parliament) in 1975 and leaving just before the last election in 2022.

Morten Dahlin, Denmark’s Minister for Nordic Co-operation, appointed Haarder as the Danish representative in the Freedom of Movement Council. His mandate will run from 1 March to 31 December 2024. Haarder is to replace Annette Lind who will take on her new role as Consul General in Flensburg on 1 March.

“I’m delighted with this appointment. I have a passion for the Nordics, and there are far too many unnecessary obstacles to freedom of movement, both physical and digital, between our countries,” says Haarder.

“Freedom of movement stimulates growth”

Fredrik Karlström also has lengthy experience in politics, working extensively on Nordic issues. He is Åland’s former Minister for Trade and Industry, and has been a member of the Ålandic parliament since 2003. As a two-time Ålandic minister, he has often participated in Nordic ministerial meetings, and also been a member of the Nordic Council’s Ålandic delegation from 2007 to 2011.

Freedom of movement and efforts to combat obstacles to it are two issues close to his heart.

“It’s a great honour to continue my work in the Nordic Region through the Freedom of Movement Council. My commitment lies in transforming the vision of freedom movement in the Nordic Region into a tangible reality for all Nordic residents. By actively addressing and reducing obstacles to freedom of movement, we’re helping to underpin freedoms and opportunities for both individuals and businesses. These efforts are not only an attempt to bring about a more integrated region, they’re critical for promoting cohesion, stimulating growth, and preserving the unique Nordic welfare model,” says Fredrik Karlström.

The Freedom of Movement Council is an independent body tasked by the Nordic governments with promoting freedom of movement in the Nordic Region for the benefit of both individuals and businesses.

– The Freedom of Movement Council has ten members who come from all the Nordic countries, the Faroe Islands, Greenland, and Åland. The Secretary General of the Nordic Council of Ministers also sits on the council, as well as a representative from the Nordic Council.

– The work of the Freedom of Movement Council aims to deliver on the goals of Vision 2030, which states that the Nordic Region should be the most sustainable and integrated region in the world by 2030.