Nordic cooperation is one of the world´s most extensive forms of regional collaboration, involving Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, the Faroe Islands, Greenland, Åland. These countries together form the Nordic region – Norden – which comprises approximately 26 million people.

Parliamentary cooperation in the region began in 1952 and expanded in 1971 with the creation of a body for intergovernmental cooperation, the Nordic Council of Ministers.

Nordic cooperation seeks to safeguard Nordic and regional interests in the global community.