NIVA’s board is appointed by representatives of the Nordic governments and answers to the Nordic Council of Ministers. The board makes strategic decisions together with the NIVA director. The board consists of five members, one from each Nordic country.

The chair of the board for 2024 is Nader Ahmadi at the Swedish Agency for Work Environment Expertise.

The chairship rotates in accordance with the country holding the presidency of the Nordic Council of Ministers.

Sigrún Gunnarsdóttir 1

Sigrún Gunnarsdóttir

Professor, University of Iceland, Iceland

Board 13

Margrethe Schøning

Department Director Corporate Governance, National Institute of Occupational Health (STAMI), Oslo, Norway

Board 14

Nader Ahmadi

Director-General, Swedish Agency for Work Environment Expertise (MyNAK/SAWEE), Gävle, Sweden

Anne Helene Garde

Professor, MSc, PhD, National Research Centre for the Working Environment (NFA/NRCWE), Copenhagen, Denmark

Owe Österbacka2

Owe Österbacka

Senior Expert, Occupational Health, Finnish Institute of Occupational Health (FIOH), Helsinki, Finland