See all the candidates for the Environment Prize 2024

The 70 nominations from all corners of the Nordic Region provide a unique and fascinating insight into Sustainable Construction, the theme for the prize this year.

The nomination process for the Nordic Council Environment Prize is open so that anyone can submit suggestions for buildings, infrastructure projects, people and organisations. Seventy-five submissions have been received, covering 70 possible winners. 

The 70 entries will be whittled down to a shortlist, which will be revealed on 28 June. 

Click here to read more about the theme for 2024.

This year, the Environment Prize is highlighting sustainable construction, focusing on adaptive architecture and regenerative construction. Nominations were received from buildings, infrastructure projects, people and organisations. 

As the global population continues to grow, new homes and other buildings are taking up more and more land and natural resources. The built environment already accounts for 40% of global CO2 emissions, which is not sustainable. To address climate change, halt the loss of biodiversity and ensure future generations have access to basic necessities like clean water, food and energy, we need to change how we build, live and work. 

Although a wide range of sustainable innovations in planning, architecture and construction have helped prevent the overexploitation of natural resources and destruction of the environment in recent years, new projects often aim no higher than making buildings less harmful. Considering how far the planet’s limits are being stretched in various areas, that level of ambition is just not good enough. 

Achieving the Agenda 2030 climate and environmental goals while promoting social and environmental sustainability will take more than just new and environmentally friendly construction. Maintaining the environmental status quo is not enough. We need to cut emissions, recycle more and use renewable resources. A fundamental rethink is needed to introduce regulations and business models that will support such a radical change. We need to promote adaptive architecture and regenerative construction. 

Adaptive architecture modifies buildings to suit new needs instead of demolishing them. 

Regenerative construction involves minimising the negative impact of building on the ecosystem. It has a net-positive effect on the environment, designing structures that are not reliant on using limited resources. It also uses reusable materials, incorporates circular thinking and value chains right from the outset and treats new buildings as part of a larger system that produces resources such as clean water, energy, and food.

All of the nominations for the Nordic Council Environment Prize are listed here:


  • ETC Bygg 
  • Timber on top 
  • Tailor Made arkitekter
  • Renoveringsraseriet 
  • Amanda Borneke 
  • Parti Design
  • ACAN (Architects Climate Action Network) Sweden 
  • Svensk Live
  • Cathrine Bülow
  • Kroksjöns trä
  • Hållbart Stockholm 2030 (HS30)
  • Lumi i Uppsala
  • White Arkitekter
  • Matthew Jackson,  Zero construct 
  • Oskar Norelius and Robert Schmitz
  • Jacob Steen


  • Arvid and Johan Mörn
  • Löfbacka Traditionsbygg, äg. Arne Nieland


  • Legacy App Aps
  • Emil Bier
  • Pihlmann Architects, et al.
  • GRAPHISOFT Center Danmark
  • Bjarke Ingels Group
  • EFFEKT Arkitekter
  • Signe Wenneberg
  • RENCO 
  • Søuld Aps
  • Bygma Group A/S


  • KAAK Bolig AS
  • Anne Aslaug Sverdrup-Thygeson
  • Polar Permaculture 
  • Veidekke Sirkulær AS
  • GC Rieber Eiendom AS
  • Sirkulær Ressurssentral
  • Kristine Nore
  • Norwegian Chicken 
  • Oslotre AS
  • LPO arkitekter
  • GAIA arkitekter 
  • Rockpore AS


  • Rakennusasiaintoimisto Aarre Oy
  • Kuljetusrinki Oy 
  • Liisa Akimof
  • Hyperion Robotics Oy 
  • Uula Tuote
  • Minna Aarnio, Aarre rakennusasiaintoimisto
  • Tampereen opiskelija-asuntosäätiö TOAS
  • Betolar Oyj
  • Föreningen Mässkär lotstation rf
  • Karoliina Saarniaho, Väylävirasto ja Janne Pesu, Suomen ympäristökeskus
  • alt Arkkitehdit Oy
  • JM Suomi Oy
  • Puistokatu 4 – Tieteen ja toivon talo
  • Rauman kaupunki / Karin Kampuksen energiantuotantojärjestelmä
  • Sisäilmatutkimuspalvelut Elisa Aattela Oy


  • Lúdika arkitektar 
  • Jukka Heinonen & team
  • Byggingarfélag Gylfa og Gunnars (BYGG)
  • Bambahús 
  • Akraneskaupstaður
  • Anna María Bogadóttir
  • Arnhildur Pálmadóttir
  • Þóra Margrét Þorgeirsdóttir, Build a Greener Future and Hrafnhildur Sif Hrafnsdóttir, Askur Construction Research and Innovation fund
  • Rockpore ehf. & Gerosion ehf.

The Faroe Islands

  • Ósbjørn Jacobsen

The Nordic Council Environment Prize was first awarded in 1995 with the aim of raising awareness of work on the environment in the Nordic Region.